Since its founding in 1732, Georgia has been governed by twelve documents from the colonial charter to our current state constitution, adopted in 1983.

During the American Revolution in 1776, a group called the Council of Safety adopted Rules and Regulations.  In 1777, Georgia had its first constitution, which was updated in 1789 and 1798.  In 1861 as the Civil War was beginning, a new constitution was adopted-and yet another at the close of the war in 1865.  During Reconstruction two new constitutions were adpoted, at the beginning in 1868 and at the end in 1877.  In the "modern era" there has been three constitutions (1945, 1976, and most recently in 1983).

The links below take you to these documents on Galileo.